Perpetually Peeved


Vegetarians who wear leather… and other hypocrites

Okay, first up on the long list of things that drive me absolutely freaking insane: hypocrites.  Vegetarians who wear leather are like the poster children of hypocrisy. 

It’s fine if you want to snub your natural instincts and not partake in the best food known to man.  I’ll never understand it, but fine.  Whatever.  I’m especially fine with it if you have a conviction (and most people who have seen “Food, Inc.” have one).  However, if you are going to sit there and stare at my hamburger in horror and tell me all about what the poor cow had to go through in order for me to have the delicious quarter pounder with cheese that I’ve been craving all week, don’t freaking do it while you’re wearing Nine West leather pumps and carrying a Coach handbag. 

Mentioning hypocrisy without calling out Christians would be like not laughing if someone fell on their ass — and by that I mean nearly impossible to do.  I have absolutely no problem with religious folk.  Unless they try to push their values on me.  Christians (and before you attack me, I can say this because I am one) seem to be the worst offenders. Now, I understand the wish to spread religion and peace and good morals… yada, yada.  But did you ever notice that some of the biggest pushers missionaries do the most un-Christian things?  When I went to the Vatican I thought I was going to die before I saw the Sistine Chapel.  Those little rosary-toting ladies would run a bitch down just to get a glimpse of Jesus.  The most atrocious example has to be the assholes at God Hates Fags who are currently protesting Jewish establishments across Atlanta.  I don’t really know where to start with this.  First of all, what does one thing have to do with the other – I’m totally confused.  Second, and most important, wasn’t Jesus a Jew?  Did God hate him too?

Hypocrisy also abounds whenever someone tries to give advice. If you are going to tell me what to do about my job, children, attitude, etc., please take stock of your own first.  Think long and hard about what advice you would give yourself (not that you would be able to hear yourself over the sound of your own voice).  Unless you are Mary freaking Poppins, don’t tell me how to raise my kids.  Supernanny?  I’d put HER in time-out…  does she even have kids of her own?  Please.

If you think it’s hypocritical that I’ve started a blog to whine about my peeves when whining is probably the #1 universal peeve, well, you’re probably right.  And, if you find that you are right 99% of the time, don’t worry, there’s a post coming up about you soon.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

99% of the time? I’m right 100% of the time! The peeves you talked about here are sad because they’re so true. My husband and one of our friends were out on the porch the other night talking about doing a peaceful protest at some of the absolutely ludicrous God hates fags events. Really? You’re so religious you think you should include hate and derogatory word in your title?!? Isn’t God supposed to be love??

Comment by Andrea

Hyper hypocrites Reformist Republicans, Reformist Democrats, Reformist Reformists, “My seat will belong to the people” campaigning politicians, TV Evangelists, Trickle Down economists($always flows up)Tolerant and Accepting Bigots, and “Save the Whales” tuna fish sandwich eaters.

Comment by carldagostino

‘Save the Whales’ tuna fish sandwich eaters — YES!!

Comment by perpetuallypeeved




Leave a Reply

