Perpetually Peeved


Word of the day: audacity

au·dac·i·ty  [aw-das-i-tee]

  1. boldness or daring, esp. with confident or arrogant disregard for personal safety, conventional thought, or other restrictions.
  2. effrontery or insolence; shameless boldness: His questioner’s audacity shocked the lecturer.
  3. Usually, audacities, audacious acts or statements.

Example:

[overheard at closed-door meeting Audacious and Peeved]

Audacious: So, I’ve decided we are not going to do XYZ because if we do XYZ we won’t be able to get QRS.

Peeved: Well, what if we did ABC, which would let us do XYZ and get QRS at the same time.
Audacious: That is a fabulous idea.  It’s perfect.  I’m so glad you thought of that.  Let’s run this all by Boss and get it going as soon as possible.
Peeved: Okay, sounds good.  Let me know when you’re ready.
——–
[overheard two hours later meeting with Boss]
[blah, blah, blah]
Audacious: And, so, I had this idea of what we could do about XYZ.  And, Peeved is totally on board with this.
Peeved: [oh no she isn’t, she can’t, she wouldn’t!]
Audacious: See, we could do ABC, which would let us do XYZ and still get QRS.
Peeved: [oh no she didn’t]
Boss: [long pause]
Peeved: [hate it, hate it, HATE IT!!!!!!!!]
Boss: That’s a great idea.  I think it could totally work.  That’s the most efficient way to do it, really.  It will save cost too.
Audacious: That’s what I was thinking… [blah, blah, blah]
Peeved: [lift jaw off table]

Quick, someone get me one of these. (from the movie Saw)

I’m not naive.  Ideas get stolen every day.  Sometimes twice a day.  But, I have never in my life witnessed someone with the audacity to a) rip your idea off right in front of you, or b) not wait the requisite one month plus window required when ripping off your idea right in front of you.

au·dac·i·ty  [aw-das-i-tee]

  1. boldness or daring, esp. with confident or arrogant disregard for personal safety, conventional thought, or other restrictions.
  2. effrontery or insolence; shameless boldness: His questioner’s audacity shocked the lecturer.
  3. Usually, audacities, audacious acts or statements.
Looks like someone needs a vocabulary lesson.
14 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You gotta give up the extra style points for doing it brazenly right in front of your face.

The Saw scenario is going to require careful planning, cleverness and patience. I say you start it off with a mysterious delivery from FedEx.

Comment by shoutabyss

I never even thought of using it for the other person. I was thinking I could use one for myself, you know, to keep my jaw from completely dislocating.

Comment by perpetuallypeeved

That sucks! I hate when people steal ideas.

Comment by tryityoumightlikeit

I have this idea about nuclear disarmament. You can’t use nukes anyway. Let just a few off and contaminates entire earth atmosphere. So who wins? I WISH A BUNCH OF PEOPLE WOULD STEAL THIS IDEA. I have a few others ideas about hunger, medical service, homelessness and tyranny too. PS You are on my blogs we like list thing.

Comment by carldagostino

Did you go back to your old job?

Comment by Unknown

No, thank you very little. I guess this just goes to show there is always one… I do have to give props for the boldness of it all. I have experienced worse, just not with anyone with balls enough to do it so blatantly. 😉

Comment by perpetuallypeeved

I can get you one of those SAW contraptions….I saw it on EBAY. It is used, and a little bloody…but it should do the trick!

Comment by redriverpak

oooh, I loves me a bargain! 😉

Comment by perpetuallypeeved

Whoops! I totally missed this yesterday. And *happy sigh* my blogiverse is back to normal.

And wow. That is pretty audacious!

Comment by Pop

Ack. This is when your mouth reverts back to watching “Dora” with the littles, and you holler out “Swiper-no swiping!”

There is NO way I could have kept my mouth shut. Totally need that jaw contraption, or maybe some extra duct-tape.

Comment by Brea

Yeah, if I had duct tape, I could kill two birds with one stone and get my wax out of the way too. 😉 Ouch.

Comment by perpetuallypeeved

You are so much better than me. I would have screamed, “WHAT!” and made sure that the boss knew that it was my idea. I can’t stand stealing, especially ideas. I applaud your restraint.

How paraniod am I? Was kinda nervous this morning when I saw that this post was password protected and I didn’t have a password. And I saw the tag “blatantly stole my idea” and I got even more nervous. “Did I do something?” I need a life, I know.

Comment by Amy

You are so funny. I thought about that when I read your post and saw that you said, “I promise not to steal your ideas.” ha ha. 😉

Comment by perpetuallypeeved

This happened with me and a now former friend. I feel your pain. The last time, I called her on it, and that was the end of that friendship.

Comment by Renee Schuls-Jacobson




Leave a Reply

