Perpetually Peeved


Gone fishing…

Literally.  Took the kiddos camping for a couple of days.  Had to unplug.  Don’t worry – lots of blog fodder.  I’ll be back later to tell you all about it. 

In the meantime, I will just say this.

These things:

photo from dentist.net

I am not one to knock someone who is trying to practice good hygiene.  Floss picks are functional and important.  I own these.  They are stored in my bathroom alongside the toothbrushes and toothpaste.  Where they belong.

Aside from washing your hands, there are few hygiene-related rituals that should be performed in public.  Flossing your teeth is one of them.  I saw a lady driving down the road digging away at her poor gums with one of these whilst talking to the passenger.  She may as well been picking her nose and flinging the treasures around the car.  Where did she think the stuff coming out from between her teeth is going?  It’s not like she had a sink to rinse it in!  Don’t worry folks, she figured it out… she put the whole tip of the floss pick in her mouth and sucked it clean.  First, ohnoshedidn’t.  Second, doesn’t that kind of defeat the purpose?

I was going to let this go as a fluke.  One gross person doing something does not a peeve make.  However, when I was watching the finale of Top Chef last night I noticed that one of the contestants, Kevin, was using one of these devices.  He was sitting around a table with five other people, flossing away.  Then, to make things grosser, he literally wiped the floss with his fingers after he was done.  Then, as if sitting within flinging vicinity of floss extract was not enough torture for the others sitting around the table, he shook their hands when they left.  I think I’d rather deal with your bad breath. 

I sure hope he washed his hands before making the “meal of his life.”

Just look at those clean teeth! tvguide.com

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Ew! Ew! Ew! Ew! oh, and EWWWW!

Comment by thelifeofjamie

I know one thing these ignorant slobs should do in public: clean up their act!

Comment by Carl D'Agostino

First – ew. Second – dang it!! should have titled this spoiler alert peeved!!! I didn’t watch the finale yet!

Comment by pbandchutney

Crap!!! That is one of my peeves. I’m so sorry! I’ll edit now…

Comment by perpetuallypeeved

In your car by yourself? Okay, I guess. But with a passenger? No! And at the dinner table? Never! Ew. Didn’t anyone ask him to stop?

Comment by Amy

Love those little devices… but in the privacy of one’s own bathroom puh-lease. Do you think these are the same people who clip their toenails in bed? 😉

Comment by Renée A. Schuls-Jacobson

ugh, i’m so disgusted. i really wish i hadn’t just eaten my lunch.

Comment by katie o.

Well, the break has done your bile detector no harm, uuuggghhhhh

Comment by gallowaygrave

Ugghh, this is a BIG pet peeve. Although I hate having stuff stuck myself, I make sure to make my way to a bathroom before digging. LOL

Comment by Bonnie




Leave a Reply

