Perpetually Peeved


Flops & Mops
November 1, 2010, 2:17 pm
Filed under: General Peevery

Here it is, folks – another case of something completely inocuous causing me to break out in hives.

photo from x17online.com

What is so confusing about the fact that if it is cold enough to wear a SWEATER, you should not be wearing FLIP FLOPS?

Now, I don’t have any issue with flip flops in general.  That is, unless you need a pedicure or are a man (mandals trigger my gag reflex). However, I feel we’ve reached a pivotal point where we either set some fashion rules down or be subjected to this bipolar attire disorder permanently.  I’m about to head to Southern California next week and I just know the minute the thermometer hits 60 degrees, the girls will be throwing on their ski parkas and flip flops.  Lord help me.

And, for the love of all things sweet and cuddly, put some damn shoes on your child!

On a related note, have Uggs officially gone out of style now?  Because if I have to see one more skinny chick in a tank top, mini skirt and sasquatch feet, I’m going to gouge my eyebals out with the closest sharp object.

Ugh -- It looks like you wrapped some Swiffer pads around your ankles and are about to scrub the kitchen floor.

20 Comments so far
Leave a comment

GUILTY AS CHARGED! I live in So Cal and always wear flip flops, even in some of the coldest weather! I will NOT wear my uggs (or my fuggs- i got them at costco) with anything but jeans…Never a skirt- not that I wear those either! And if you are coming here this week- it’s going to be HOT (90’s).

Comment by thelifeofjamie

Thanks, I’ll plan for it. I’m coming down next week – and I may just have to pay you a visit and confiscate your flip-flops until May. 😉

Comment by perpetuallypeeved

you take my flip flops, and I will KILL you!!! But I have about 9 pairs so HA! Wish I was still in SD- I could meet PP in person! 🙂

Comment by thelifeofjamie

North Miami is now known as Little Haiti. These are delightful, good natured and hard working people. But I cannot understand the clothing. I mean in this 475 F degree heat many are wearing jackets. Women’s dresses are often of wool and I never did understand the hat thing. I mean I had to teach my students not to wear a hat indoors to a job interview and they looked at me like I was disturbed. Another piece of clothing or anatomical appendage is the cell phone glued to everyone’s ears. 8 year olds with a cell phone attachment? Good Lord. I don’t even have one and never did and never will. I have a phone on my desk, thank you very much, and everything is just fine. Cuban women go into convulsions and soon die if their cell phone is removed. One thing that may disgust you Mrs. Peeve is that many of us men NEVER wear a shirt unless we are forced into going to church or naturally at work but wouldn’t wear it there if we could get away with it. Culturally speaking it is OK for Italian men to take their shirt off, if undershirt worn, if eating spaghetti at home or restaurant because no matter how hard you try you will wind up with little red spots on your shirt from the tomato sauce as you ravishingly devour the spaghetti like a starving lion in a rabbit farm cage. And too many people wear an “it’s all about me” chip on their shoulder.

Comment by carldagostino

Ugg feet = sweaty feet. That’s all I’ll say about that.

Comment by Blogdramedy

I know. My twelve year old had Uggs for a little bit. Hormones + Uggs = free home fumigation. Everything with a heartbeat in a 20 foot radius passed out each time she took her boots off.

Comment by perpetuallypeeved

thats is way too funny

Comment by 1sttime0ffender

Thanks. And, for the record, Biggie didn’t wear a slutty Halloween costume this year either. I think you have a few more good years to go.

Comment by perpetuallypeeved

Peeved: I have never understood the whole Uggs in warm climate thing. Thank you for being there for me.

I guess that’s one good thing about living in Western NY. Once it snows, people put away the flip-flops. Until Spring.

Comment by Renée A. Schuls-Jacobson

Yes, because us New Yawkers, we’re smaart like dat. 😉

Comment by perpetuallypeeved

I like the throw-away line at the end about Swiffer shoes. I think that’s a great idea, especially if there are mopey teenagers in the house. Give ’em a pair of Swiffer shoes, tell ’em they can’t get their way, and the floor practically cleans itself.

Comment by Todd Pack

I like it!

Comment by gallowaygrave

One word: sorostitutes. They commit both of these fashion atrosities every day. Sometimes living in a college town makes my head hurt.

Comment by Amy

Uggs are the best thing Australia ever exported. Friggin horrid 🙂

Comment by frigginloon

I am not sh*tting you! In my 4 years volunteering at DFW Airport…I have probably seen over 50 men…wearing FLIP-FLOPS….in business attire!! Nice shirt, tie, slacks, and flip flip flip flip flip…..just like they are padding out towards the pool at the hotel! It’s unbelievable!!

Comment by TheIdiotSpeaketh

I’ve never understood Uggs. But then, some things aren’t meant to be understood.

Comment by 36x37

PP, I live in So Cal and I am guilty as charged too about the flip flops and sweaters. I do NOT wear my uggs with anything but jeans as well. You know the saying, while in Rome . . . So break out those flip flops and put on a sweater if weather allowes… Have a great time. I love SD!

Comment by apieceofthepiehole

Oh NOOOO. So THIS is what all the other women were looking down at while standing at the poles at 7 am this morning donned in fleece. Can I just use the excuse of having a palmetto tree on my state flag? Pwetty peez? 😀

Comment by Bonnie

Sorry, to clarify – that would be my flip-flops, not uggs. lol

Comment by Bonnie

Very very funny. Love your Ugg rant. I’m with you.

Comment by Ironic Mom




Leave a Reply

