Perpetually Peeved


You say today is Saturday?

Fell into bed last night at about 11:00 after a long day trying to wrap up stuff at work on limited brain cells, buying last-minute items, and packing (kind of – there’s still work to be done).  I use my iPhone as my alarm clock.  It has never failed me.  Until today.  Some part of my brain hears the news announcer say 8:23.  What the crap?  Check phone.  Phone dead.  Commence freak out. 

Borrowed from myopera.com (don't know where they stole it from).

Peeved:  Oh my…  No way!… 

Mr. Peeved:  What, what’s wrong. 

Peeved:  It’s 8:23. 

Mr. Peeved:  Oh (turns over and goes back to sleep – he’s used to my antics) 

Peeved:  Shit!  I was supposed to leave the house 23 minutes ago!  Smalls, get up, we gotta go! 

I absolutely HATE being late.  I HATE feeling rushed.  I have a bubble of anxiety and panic rising from my stomach and shit!shit!shit! running through my head. 

That IS kind of what my hair looks like when I don't let the conditioner sit for the full 2 minutes.

 Drag my ass into the shower.  Warp speed wash, rinse, repeat.

 Throw on whatever is in the nearest dry cleaning bag. 

Slap on some makeup. 

Throw on some shoes. 

Wake up hubby to ask if he tried on the stuff I bought him for our vacation last night.  Ignore the Are You Freaking Kidding Me glare. 

Wake up Smalls.  Well, actually it’s more like carry her limp body to the potty and try to dress her while she flops around like a ragdoll. 

Glasses…  hate looking for glasses when I can’t see!  Aha!  Nightstand. 

Crap!  Need the camera cord to download some pictures for work.  Where is the GD camera cord??? 

Got it.  Now, need those invitations to bring to Smalls’ school for her birthday party.  Check. 

Okay, let’s boogie.  What do you mean you want a ponytail?  You never let me do your hair and this morning you want a ponytail? 

shit!shit!shit!  

20/20 vision. Camera cord. Invitations. Keys. Coiffed child.  Where’s that phone?  Oh, yeah, on the charger. 

Unplug.  What?  WHAT??  6:49???  Oh for the love of Pete!  

C’mon Smalls, we’ve got time to grab coffee and a muffin. 

***** 

Sick 

Shel Silverstein

  ‘I cannot go to school today, ‘
Said little Peggy Ann McKay.
‘I have the measles and the mumps,
A gash, a rash and purple bumps.
My mouth is wet, my throat is dry,
I’m going blind in my right eye.
My tonsils are as big as rocks,
I’ve counted sixteen chicken pox
And there’s one more-that’s seventeen,
And don’t you think my face looks green?
My leg is cut-my eyes are blue-
It might be instamatic flu.
I cough and sneeze and gasp and choke,
I’m sure that my left leg is broke-
My hip hurts when I move my chin,
My belly button’s caving in,
My back is wrenched, my ankle’s sprained,
My ‘pendix pains each time it rains.
My nose is cold, my toes are numb.
I have a sliver in my thumb.
My neck is stiff, my voice is weak,
I hardly whisper when I speak.
My tongue is filling up my mouth,
I think my hair is falling out.
My elbow’s bent, my spine ain’t straight,
My temperature is one-o-eight.
My brain is shrunk, I cannot hear,
There is a hole inside my ear.
I have a hangnail, and my heart is-what?
What’s that? What’s that you say?
You say today is…Saturday?
G’bye, I’m going out to play! ‘
16 Comments so far
Leave a comment

LOL I hate when that happens!

Comment by pbandchutney

Yes a big sigh of relief followed swiftly by some Damn! I could’ve slept another hour!

Comment by perpetuallypeeved

That’s about as bad as thinking the whole day is Thursday when it’s only Wednesday. At least you got a muffin.
The Little Miss Late and Shel Silverstein reeeally take me back! Nostalgia pains!

Comment by Amy

Well, yeah, not quite that bad. 🙂 At least I got a latte and some extra time to read blogs this morning.

Comment by perpetuallypeeved

So the magic phone was about 2 hours 30 minutes out? I’ll stick to my wrist watch, tar!

Comment by davehambo

Nothing wrong with the phone except the user. 😉

Comment by perpetuallypeeved

Oh botties?

Comment by davehambo

Gotta love the Silverstein… 🙂

Comment by redriverpak

Haven’t screwed up a day like this before, but I did do it for a year once when I thought I was a year older than I actually was for an entire year. Imagine my joy when my Mom told me how old I really was. I got an ENTIRE YEAR back!

Best birthday ever.

Comment by writerdood

Funny, that’s been happening to me every year since I turned 29. I keep thinking I’m going to be older, but I keep turning 29 again.

Comment by perpetuallypeeved

I love shel silverstien… and I am sorry you rushed around like that, but atleast you had time for a muffin!

Comment by Melissa

Gotta love that iPhone battery, huh? I actually bought 3 extra chargers to keep at the places that I’m at most in life. As soon as I did that the iPhone 4 was released.

Comment by Bonnie

Peeved – do you have Angry Birds on your phone? Mine is charged forever b/c this game is the BEST stress reliever. Sorry your Saturday started as a Monday.

Comment by izziedarling

BLAST! But yeap, at least you had time for a muffin…and your blogs. Hate when that happens!

Comment by katie o.

I can’t stand being late either. I get the same kind of rising anziety/voice in my head screaming that we are all going to freaking DIE if we are late…..AGHGHH!

I love Sick!

Comment by Scott Oglesby

Modern techno/industrial society can function only under what sociologist call the “dictatorship of the clock”(think robots or Germany or like just normal). Perpetually lates would love Miami. It’s called Cuban Time. 6:00 AM means 8:30. Lunch means supper. Tuesday means Friday. And next week is probably never. In this town you can leave your watch in the hope chest. What you really need is a calendar.

Comment by Carl D'Agostino




Leave a Reply

